fire classification

Fires are classified according to burning materials. Classification aids the correct choice of fire extinguisher. The European norm EN2 classifies 5 groups:

  •  Class A: Solid materials (e.g. paper, textiles, wood)
  •  Class B: Fluid materials or those which become fluid (e.g. petrol, synthetic materials)
  •  Class C: Gas (e.g. propane, butane)
  •  Class D: Metal
  •  Class F: Fats and oils

Classification E for electrical fires was abolished on introduction of the new European EN2 norms.